© 2024. Randolph Hub. All Rights Reserved.


Southern Blend was the top Bluegrass Band at the 57th Annual Granite Quarry Fiddlers’ Convention.   Photo: G. Nicholas Hancock

Local musicians receive awards at Granite Quarry fiddlers’ convention

Several area musicians took home prizes at the 57th Annual Granite Quarry Fiddlers’ Convention on Oct. 14. Held at East Rowan High School, the talent contest is a yearly fundraiser for the Granite Quarry Civitan Club.


Vivian Hopkins, former president of the NC Bluegrass Association, assists the service club as convention coordinator with the acoustic competition. She shared a little history of the event.


“I am so proud that this fiddlers’ convention is a direct spin-off from the world famous Union Grove Fiddlers’ Convention. (The late) James Mathis came from Union Grove to become principal at Granite Quarry Elementary School. He joined the Granite Quarry Civitan Club and suggested having such an event as a fundraiser. I attended the first one. I was 12 years old.”


Big T Lassiter of West End served as master of ceremonies. Caroline Owens of Denton served as one of the contest’s judges.


First place bluegrass gospel band was presented to Crossroads, which included Derrick Allred on guitar and vocals from Cedar Falls and Travis Brady on bass from Franklinville. 


Below is a list of all winners:


Bluegrass Band: Falling Timber

Gospel Band: Edenfield Family Band

Banjo: 1. Lois Chaney, 2. Cameron Edenfield, 3. Harvey Caudell

Fiddle: 1. Agnes Caudell, 2. Teddy Smoker, 3. Opal Caudell

Guitar: 1. Elijah Smith, 2. Sarah Luther, 3. Gabe Webster

Mandolin: 1. Oscar Caudell, 2. Jacob Little, 3. Elijach Smith

Bass: 1. Matthew Chaney

Vocal: 1. Sarah Luther, 2. Chelsea Edenfield, 3. Courtney Edenfield

Don & Margaret Livengood Memorial Award (for outstanding youth performance) — Sarah Luther



Bluegrass Band: 1. Southern Blend

Gospel Band: 1. Crossroads, 2. Harmony Trio

Fiddle: 1. Alec McCallister, 2. Charlie Tolbert, 3. John Hofmann

Banjo: 1. Curt Love

Guitar: 1. Adam Truell, 2. Oscar Caudell, 3. Caleb Munson

Mandolin: 1. Nathan Orange, 2. Charlie Tolbert, 3. Jonah Chaney

Bass: 1. Bailey Wagner, 2. Travis Brady, 3. Jeremy Nash

Dobro: 1. Peden Williams, 2. James Murdock, 3. Sandy Hatley

Vocal: 1. Bailey Wagner, 2. Natalie Ingram, 3. Jimmy Ball

2023 Granite Quarry Civitan Fiddlers’ Convention Honoree: Jerry Stuart