© 2024. Randolph Hub. All Rights Reserved.


Sheriff's Department hands out honors

The Randolph County Sheriff’s Office held its awards program with Sheriff Greg Seabolt recognizing recipients in many categories. Here’s a recap:


Community Partner of the Year

Beane Signs

Beane Signs has always been an integral part of signage for the Randolph County Sheriff’s Office, whether it is stationary or on the move. Beane Signs has operated in Asheboro since 1971.


Medal of Valor

Deputy Josh Parris

Deputy Travis Cox

The Medal of Valor Award is a way RCSO recognizes deputies who perform extraordinary acts of heroism and bravery while voluntarily putting their lives on the line each and every day.



These awards are given to officers in appreciation for prompt and unselfish acts of rendering aid and assistance to a fellow citizen or law enforcement officer that resulted in the saving of a life.


July 30, 2022

Dep. Billy White 


August 10, 2022

Det. Travis Cox 

Cpl. Paul Canham

SP Brad Harb 

Dep. Cody Kearns 

Cpl. Randal Purvis 

Dep. Garrett Kidd 


Detention Center

August 23, 2022

Lt. Cynthia Hayworth 

Off. Dee Norris

Off. Kyley Moore 


Detention Center

October 7, 2022

Sgt, Charles Varner  

Off. Zachary Willard  

Off. Justin Sease 



Dep. John D. Carter Jr. —First Place Male 

Dep. Rena Lambert — First Place Female 

Patrol Shift B — First Place Team



Sheriff Seabolt recognized the following division officers and civilian employees for their dedication, exemplary performance and professional conduct in 2022, as chosen by their fellow employees.  


Administration/Records/Evidence Division — Deputy Eddie Slafky


Bailiff Division — Lt. Scott Stockner


Civil Division — Deputy Arthur Heaton


Civilian — Heather Tilley


Criminal Interdiction Teams — Sgt. Travis Short


Criminal Investigations Division — Detective Paige Parrish


Fleet Maintenance — Roger Parris


Patrol Division — Dep. Luke Wible


School Resource Unit — Deputy Vanessa Moser


Vice — Sgt. Justin Trogdon


Detention Center — Lt. Greg Tillman


Detention Center Admin/Maintenance — Lt. Cody Rich


Transportation / House Arrest — Deputy Troy Albright


Volunteer Service Awards —  Ken Rhodes and Bud Kauffman



Dep. Luke Wible

The recipient is selected from the division winners, in recognition of outstanding policing or investigatory ability, consistent high levels of commitment and professionalism, or where the individual’s actions are far beyond what would normally be expected.

This year’s Commendation Award is in memory of Sheriff Maynard Reid. 

Sheriff Reid was a U.S. Marine who served in Vietnam, receiving a Purple Heart for being wounded in combat. He served as a law enforcement officer for both the Asheboro Police Department and the Randolph County Sheriff’s Office for nearly 40 years. 

Reid served as Randolph County’s Sheriff from 2006 until his unexpected death on Jan. 5, 2016.