© 2024. Randolph Hub. All Rights Reserved.


Zoe Holmes with Cathy Waddell, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, and Dr. Stephen Gainey, the schools superintendent, after winning the county Spelling Bee.

SWRMS’ Zoe Holmes wins RCSS Spelling Bee

Zoe Holmes of Southwestern Randolph Middle School won the Randolph County Schools Spelling Bee, held at Journey Church in Asheboro on Feb. 7, outlasting 23 spellers to take the title. Zoe advances to the Regional Spelling Bee on March 5 held at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte. 


Here’s a list of all of the RCSS school champion spellers, with their alternates in parentheses:

Archdale Elementary — Jaxon Saferight (Jace Taylor)

Coleridge Elementary — Annabelle Kidd (Kensleigh Humphrey)

Farmer Elementary — Lealand Mabe (Addison Baucom)

Franklinville Elementary — William Dawkins (Makayla Williams)

Grays Chapel Elementary — Maxton Groff (Rilynne Ulander)

Hopewell Elementary — Alison Nonan (Jacquelyn Ingram)

John Lawrence Elementary — Carson Brown (Joel Horrell)

Level Cross Elementary — Cali Underwood (Hannah Rogers)

Liberty Elementary — Jayden Newby (Anna McIlquham)

New Market Elementary — Marleigh Halliburton (Dixon Parks)

Northeastern Randolph MS — Eric Gonzalez (Jaxson Clark)

Ramseur Elementary — Justin Moreno Rodriguez (Olivia Moore)

Randleman Elementary — Trey Six Kimberly (Echeverria Espinal)

Randleman MS — Sadie Goss (Makayla Rees)

Seagrove Elementary — Ryleigh Martin (Vanessa Padilla)

Southeastern Randolph MS — Zoe Holmes (George Spicer)

Southmont Elementary — Emalyn Kiser (Tate McKee)

Southwestern Randolph MS — Davis Miller (Noah Martin)

Tabernacle Elem. — Michael Gordon (David Velazquez Morales)

Trindale Elementary — Heidi Meyer (Christian Reyes‐Vicente)

Trinity Elementary — Gavin Black (Bailey McCormick)

Trinity MS — Charleigh Harris (Jeren Doxtad)

Uwharrie Ridge 6‐12 — Brinnley York (Cora Cecil)

Wheatmore MS — Albert Wallace (Carter Metters)