© 2024. Randolph Hub. All Rights Reserved.


Early voting sites chosen for March primary

ASHEBORO — Locations for early voting in the March 5 primary election were decided by the Randolph County Board of Elections. But the hours for early voting will need to be decided by the state Board of Elections.


The local board met on Nov. 17 for the canvass of the Nov. 7 municipal elections. The preliminary results were upheld during the review of absentee and provisional ballots as well as write-ins.


The board approved four locations for next year’s primary early voting prior to the March 5 primary. They are:

-The Randolph County Board of Elections, 1457 N. Fayetteville St., Asheboro.

-The Randleman Civic Center, 122 Commerce Square, Randleman.

-Franklinville United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall, 227 W. Main St., Franklinville.

-Braxton Craven School, 7037 NC 42, Trinity. 


There was no consensus for the times and dates for early voting as the board split 3-2 down party lines. The majority Democrats had a plan that would allow voting on the first Saturday (Feb. 17 from 8 a.m.-6 p.m.) and the first Sunday (March 18 from 1-6 p.m.) The minority Republicans were against the Sunday vote, instead offering a plan to allow voting on all three Saturdays from 8 a.m.-3 p.m. during the early period. State law requires early voting on the last Saturday, March 2, from 8 a.m.-3 p.m.


The State Board is expected to determine the early voting dates sometime in December.


The Randolph County Board of Elections is composed of three Democrats and two Republicans. The State Board appoints two from each party and the governor chooses the chair.


Margaret Megerian is the chair of the current board and the other Democrats are Tiffany Alston and Pete Oldham. The two Republicans are Mary Joan Pugh and Kevin Williams.


Meanwhile, the filing period has opened for the primary and several candidates from Randolph County have signed up for re-election or as a challenger to a current office holder.


Through Friday, Dec. 8, these candidates have filed:

-Randolph County Board of Commissioners, District 5 — Maxton McDowell, Asheboro (R, incumbent), Chris McLeod, Denton (R), Lester Rivenbark, Asheboro (R).

-Randolph County Board of Commissioners, District 1 — Kenny Kidd, Asheboro (R, incumbent).

-NC House, District 70 — Brian Biggs, Trinity (R, incumbent).

-NC House, District 78 — Neal Jackson, Robbins (R, incumbent).

-NC Senate, District 29 — Dave Craven, Jr., Asheboro (R, incumbent)

-NC District Court Judge, District 37 — Barron Thompson, Asheboro (R, incumbent).