© 2023. Randolph Hub. All Rights Reserved.


Election 2021 in Randolph County: It's here

ASHEBORO — The 2021 election season began Oct. 14 with early voting. But there’s still plenty of time if you haven’t been to the polls, with early voting continuing until Oct. 30 and the traditional election day on Nov. 2.

Early voting is taking place at the Randolph County Board of Elections at Northgate Plaza, 1457 N. Fayetteville St., Asheboro. Hours are 8 a.m.-5 p.m. on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, and from 8 a.m.-7 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays. The final day of early voting is Saturday, Oct. 30, from 8 a.m.-3 p.m.

Voting on Nov. 2 will be held from 6:30 a.m.-7:30 p.m. at one of 11 polling sites in the county. Some voters have been transferred to another site for this election only.

Some polling sites and notes:

— Grantville will vote with Asheboro East at Central United Methodist Church, 300 S. Main Street, Asheboro.

— Union Grove and Southwest will go to Teachey Elementary School, 294 Newbern Ave., Asheboro.

— Back Creek will vote at Asheboro West, Sunset Avenue Church of God, 900 Sunset Ave., Asheboro.

— Level Cross will vote at Randleman, First United Methodist Church, 301 S. Main St., Randleman.

— Thomasville voters who reside in Randolph County will vote at Trinity, Hopewell Elementary School, 6294 Welborn Road, Trinity.

Other polling sites:

— Asheboro North, Balfour Elementary School, 2097 N. Asheboro School Road, Asheboro.

— Deep River, Franklinville United Methodist Church,  227 W. Main St., Franklinville.

— Liberty, American Legion Post 81 Building, 604 S. Greensboro St., Liberty.

— Ramseur, Southeast Randolph Middle School, 5302 Foushee Road, Ramseur.

— Southern, First Baptist Church of Seagrove, 7931 US 220 S., Asheboro.

— Staley, Staley Fire Station, 410 W. Railroad St., Staley.

If you have questions as to where to vote on election day, call 336-318-6900 to confirm your polling site.

Municipal elections for 2021 include:


Asheboro City Schools Board of Education, 4 seats open — Candidates (7): Todd Dulaney, incumbent Baxter Hammer, Adam Hurley, incumbent Beth Knott, Hailey Trollinger Lee, Kathryn Thill and Bob Williams. The top four vote-getters will be on the board.

Asheboro City Council, 4 seats open — Candidates (6): Incumbent Clark Bell, Kelly Heath, Bill McCaskill, incumbent Walker Moffitt, incumbent Katie Snuggs and Delilah Perkins Warner.

Mayor — David Smith is running unopposed for re-election.


Board of Commissioners, 3 seats open — Candidates (6): Ricky Collins, William Farias, incumbent Richard Goodwin, incumbent Brandon Hurley, Michael Johnson and Craig Smith.

Mayor —  Perry Conner is being challenged by current board member, A.C. Hurley.


Board of Commissioners, 3 seats open — Candidates (4): Terry Caviness, incumbent Larry Coble, incumbent Chris Compton and incumbent Tyson Nixon.

Mayor — Fillmore York is running unopposed for re-election.


Board of Commissioners, 2 seats open — Candidates (3): Diana Brower, Wayne Carroll and Joy Hooker.


Board of Aldermen, Ward 2 — Candidates (2): Incumbent Melissa Blalock, Craig Wayne Hancock.

Board of Aldermen, Ward 3 — Incumbent Nancy Henderson is running unopposed.

Mayor — Gary Betts is running unopposed for the mayor’s seat, being vacated by Bucky Jernigan.


Board of Commissioners, 2 open seats — Candidates (2): Incumbent Ed Walker, Sandra Walker.

Mayor — David Fernandez is running unopposed for re-election.


Mayor Karen Scotton and the entire Board of Commissioners are running unopposed for re-election. Board members are Renee Harrelson, Faye Johnson, Janet Langley Lambert, Lori Lynn Langley-Hankins and Steve Rollins.


City Council, Ward 2 —  Incumbent Steve Lawing faces challenger Ed Lohr.

City Council. Ward 4 — Incumbent Don Payne is running against Felix Forbes, Robbie Walker and Darian Campbell.

Mayor — Richard McNabb is running for re-election against challenger Vickee Armstrong.