© 2024. Randolph Hub. All Rights Reserved.


Election timetable set for Nov. 7

ASHEBORO — Two new polling sites in Asheboro will be open for November’s election. 


The Municipal General Election for Asheboro, Franklinville, Liberty, Ramseur, Randleman, Seagrove and Staley as well as the Asheboro Board of Education will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 7.


Registered voters who live within the boundaries of these municipalities and the Asheboro City Schools district — as well as Randolph County citizens eligible to vote in Thomasville and High Point elections — may vote in the municipal election. Municipal contests may include the mayor and members of the municipality’s govern-ing board. 


These are often referred to as “off-year elections” because they do not include regu-lar state and federal elections. 


The two new polling places will be:


- ASHEBORO SOUTH — National Guard Armory, 1430 S. Fayetteville Street

- ASHEBORO WEST — Asheboro Recreation Center, 135 N. Fayetteville Street


In a change enacted since the previous election, voters will be asked to show photo ID when they vote. All voters will be allowed to vote with or without ID. Voters who lack ID can get one for free from their county board of elections. Find out more at ncsbe.gov/voter-id. 


Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day.


One-stop early voting will be held at  the Randolph County Board of Elections, 1457 N. Fayetteville Street in Asheboro, from Thursday, Oct. 19, to Saturday, Nov. 4, on the following days and times: 


- Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

- Tuesdays, Thursdays, 8 a.m.-7 p.m. 

- Saturday, Nov. 4, 8 a.m.-3 p.m.


Absentee ballots will be mailed to voters who have requested them beginning Oct. 6, 2023. A voter can fill out an absentee ballot request at votebymail.ncsbe.gov, or by filling out a request form provided by the Board of Elections.  


The request must be received through the website or by the Randolph County Board of Elections by 5 p.m. on Oct. 31, 2023.  


Questions? Call the Randolph County Board of Elections Office at 336-318-6900 or send an email to elections@randoloph-countync.gov.


Here’s a list of who will be on ballot:


ACS Board of Education 

Gidget Kidd, Ryan Patton, Melissa Calloway, Gwen Williams, Todd Dulaney

Asheboro City Council 

Eddie Burks, Jane Hughes Redding, Charles Swiers, Harry Okeke, Joey Trogdon

Franklinville Mayor

A.C. Hurley

Franklinville Commissioners

Priscilla Ann Dunn, L. McKay (Mac) Whatley

Liberty Mayor 

Filmore York

Liberty Commissioners 

Greg Carpenter, Don Herndon

Ramseur Mayor 

Hampton Spivey, Vicki Caudle

Ramseur Commissioners

J.C. Parrish, Jay Hubbard, Tresa Cheek Hatchett

Randleman Aldermen 

  At Large — Mike Dawkins, Marty Leonard, Kim Grooms Keaton

  Ward 1 — Steve Grooms, Jr., Renee Bryant

  Ward 4 — Lee Hinson, Kimmy Williams

Seagrove Commissioners 

Homer Beheler, Carol Kim

Staley Mayor 

Michelle Hooker-Ravenall, Karen R. Scotton

Staley Town Commissioners 

Renee Harrelson, Steve Rollins, Lori Lynn Langley-Hankins, Sherri Martin, Faye Johnson

Thomasville City Council 

Ronald Fowler, Eric Kuppel, Paula Widener Peters, Payton Williams, Lisa Shell, Dana Skeen Lomba. 

High Point Mayor 

Victor Jones, Cyrill Jefferson, Abdul Rashid (Richard) Siddiqui, Gene Kinimonth

High Point Council 

   At-Large — Sam Carr, Shazia Iqbal, Orel Henry, Britt W. Moore, Amanda Cook, Willie H. Davis, Kenneth Jabari Harper Jr. 

   Ward 3 — Monica Peters, Richard Bahadur.