© 2024. Randolph Hub. All Rights Reserved.


AHS adds to its Hall of Fame

ASHEBORO — The Asheboro High School Hall of Fame grew on Oct. 6 as four outstanding former Blue Comets and one team were inducted. The ceremony took place at halftime of the varsity football game against Central Davidson at Lee J. Stone Stadium.


1961-62 basketball state champs

The 1961-62 boys basketball team, which was coached by Don Thomas, was enshrined. That year’s team won 19 games and captured a WNCHSAA state title under Thomas, who was in his first year as head coach. The Blue Comets defeated previously undefeated Belmont for the state crown. Mem-bers of that team were Kritz Cox, Phil Freeman, Jimmy Grimsley, Ronnie Johnson, Bill Joyner, C.L. King, Dave McFadden, Tom Robbins, Houston Roberts, William Rush, Mike Stroud, Robert West and Mark Williams.


Tim Allgood

Dr. Tim Allgood, a longtime coach and administrator at the high school, was honored after working 34 years for the Asheboro City Schools system. Allgood was a coach, administrator and volunteer while in Asheboro.


Dalton Cook

Dalton Cook, who graduated in 2001, was named all-state twice while at AHS. He was an academic All-American and was awarded the Eddie Luck Scholarship in wrestling. 


Sawyer Davidson 

Sawyer Davidson was one of the most successful wrestlers to ever com-pete for AHS. He was a two-time state champion and four-time member of the all-state team. He was named All-American twice and had a solid college career at the University of North Carolina. 


Jay Moore 

Current AHS tennis coach Jay Moore has been a fixture in the program. A 1966 graduate, he captured the WNCHSAA championship as a player. As a coach, he has earned five conference titles and won five conference Coach of the Year Awards.