© 2023. Randolph Hub. All Rights Reserved.


Garrison begins season with 4-goal effort

Mike Duprez
Randolph Hub 


Ellie Garrison scored 77 goals last season to put her atop the all-time single-season scoring list in North Carolina, according to the record book kept by the NC High School Athletic Association. 


While setting the state record, Garrison helped Wheatmore win the 2-A state title. Garrison, now a junior, is back along with Summer and Natalie Bowman and several other key holdovers to defend their crown. 


Here’s a look at how they started and some other notes from last week.




*Natalie Flores scored the goal for Asheboro as the Blue Comets played to a 1-1 tie with Randleman to open the season. Asheboro outshot Randleman 21-4. 


*Macy Allred scored a four-goal hat trick in Southwestern Randolph’s 8-1 thumping of Southern Guilford. Katie Jaimes had two goals for the Cougars. Alma Tajada and Camryn Everhart each scored a goal. Macy Walker delivered four assists and Lucy Griffith had one.


*Ellie Garrison produced a four-goal hat trick as Wheatmore shut out Ledford 6-0. Summer Bowman had a goal and two assists for the Warriors. Natalie Bowman had a goal and an assist.


*Tess Moody scored two goals in Asheboro’s 3-3 tie with Northwood. Natasha Meadows scored the other goal. Natalie Flores and Madison Luck each had an assist while keeper Carlisle Dozier made 21 saves.




*Asheboro’s David Elliott was the medalist with a 42 in a three-way match won by the Blue Comets against Ragsdale and Southwestern Randolph. The Blue Comets’ Luke Payne was second with a 43.




*Asheboro’s Jerquarius Stanback was named player of the year and the Blue Comets’ Tanner Marsh was selected defensive player of the year in the Mid-Piedmont Conference. Hakemme Butler and Darius Headen also made the boys’ all-MPC team.


*Asheboro’s Sion Murrain was named to the girls’ all-MPC team.




*Asheboro’s Megan Becker, Maci Columbia, Madison Burnette and Fiona Wolf-Roberts were named to the girls’ all-MPC team.


*Asheboro’s Tyler Smith was named to the boys’ all-MPC team.




*Diego Gutierrez of Asheboro was named wrestler of the year in the MPC. Joining him on the all-MPC team were Bearik Bigelow, Xavier Santos, Sammy Salinas, Michael Brady and Eddie Soto. The Blue Comets’ Jake Berrier was named coach of the year.




*Chase Whitaker, Hunter Sexton, James Ellis, Tucker Batten, Travis Cockman and Carson Jones won in singles as Providence Grove swept Uwharrie Charter 9-0.


*Jacob Younts, Collin Burgess, Sam Greene, Avery Plummer, Hunter Moore and Kalvin Smith won in singles as Whearmore shut out Randleman 9-0.