© 2024. Randolph Hub. All Rights Reserved.


NASCAR drivers try Caraway

Mike Duprez

Randolph Hub




Some big names were at Caraway Speedway on June 28 for the CARS Tour Late Model Stock Car Race.


Jared Fryer was awarded the victory after Layne Riggs failed a post-race inspection. Mason Diaz, Carson Kvapil, Kaden Honeycutt and Bobby McCarty rounded out the top five. Kvapil is the son of 2003 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Champion Travis Kvapil.


NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Kyle Larson finished seventh. Larson, the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series Champion, has won 21 Sprint Cup races in his career.


Former NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Jeremy Mayfield had engine problems and was second-to-last in the 31-car field. Mayfield has five Sprint Cup wins.


*Burt Myers won the 99-lap Southern Modified Auto Racing (SMART) tour race at the Rusty Harpe Memorial event at Caraway Speedway. Tim Brown was second, Ronnie Williams was third, Joey Coulter came in fourth and Brian Loftin placed fifth. Former NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Bobby Labonte was sixth.


Josh Lowder won the 50-lap 602 MODS race. Luke Baldwin was second and Slate Myers third.


Jon Morton won the 15-lap Bootleggers race, Cody Griffin won the 50-lap Challengers race, A.J. Sanders won the 40-lap Mini Stock race and Daniel Hughes won the 15-lap U-Car race.




*Ten county players made the North Carolina Softball Coaches All-State team. Making it in 2-A were Providence Grove’s Maddie Finchum and Emma Mazzarone and Southwestern Randolph’s Ky Perdue, Carleigh Whitson and Macie Crutchfield. 


The 1-A selections were Eastern Randolph's Addie Flinchum, Wynne Bartholow and Lanie McDaniel and Uwharrie Charter’s Kynley Brewer and Mollie Bulla.